True Crime Story/Jilted Lover

On The Edge Of Insanity: An Astonishing Response To Honesty Revealed Evil Intent

They say to be honest, but is it always the best policy? What if honesty backfires, and you end up in a near-fatal situation? It is a true story of what honesty can do to a bad situation.

Jason Morton
4 min readJul 8, 2024

--

Image made with Microsoft 365 Designer

Imagine, if you will, life being stranger than fiction. We see things in movies that scare us to our core and should create an idea of what not to do. Movies are an example of the worst dramas humans conceive of, usually dramatized for the screen.

What if doing something, like being honest, put you in one of those scenarios? How would you react and change your approach to the situation next time?

In the 90s, there was a time when life threw me a curve ball. Things were looking up in the world. I had a great job, was finishing college, my son was healthy, and everybody was doing alright. Considering the early 90s, I was happy with that. Things were on the uphill and getting better.

I met a woman through work. Over time, we developed a friendship, and I had a deep respect for her. That friendship and deep respect developed into a deeper connection, and I…

--

--

Jason Morton

Currently, I'm a telecom tech, a grandfather, and fighting cancer. I enjoy writing and sharing opinions. I stumbled into some knowledge along my journey.